Regulation of Debt Collectors

Debt Collector Licensing and Regulation Requirements

Most states require debt collectors to register with them in order to do business with people within their borders. As of the time of this writing, the states below have this requirement. You should look up the law for your own state and check with your attorney general to see if the collector bugging you is obeying this law. Somewhat incredibly, this law is also frequently ignored by the debt collectors, and this may be, and probably is, grounds to get a lawsuit dismissed and also be a violation of the FDCPA. It may also trigger regulatory enforcement action.

States Requiring Licensing, Registration, Exam, and/or Bond

Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas
Colorado, Connecticut
Idaho, Illliois, Indiana, Iowa
Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota
Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York in some cities, North Carolina, North Dakota
Puerto Rico
South Carolina (business license required)
Tennessee, Texas
Utah Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

States Requiring License Tax


No Bond or License Required

District Of Columbia
Kansas, Kentucky
Mississippi, Missouri, Montana
New Hampshire
Ohio, Oklahoma Pennsylvania
Rhode Island
South Dakota
Vermont, Virginia

You should check on the requirements for you state and, if they are not met by a debt collector contacting you, take appropriate action.